Moving to A6400 from Nikon D5500

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ross9

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi all - looking for your honest opinions on the below:

I'm currently an average land photographer. I've only ever used an old GoPro 3+ underwater but I'm keen to upgrade and try to take some proper photos.

The cheapest housing I can find for my current DSLR (Nikon D5500) is £1k (Nimar) so it looks like it'll be more cost effective to change my camera. I do a lot of travelling (well I used to...) so also like the idea of the smaller mirrorless package v DSLR for carting around on a backpacking trip.

I'm currently looking at:
  • Sony A6400 with kit lens (I considered the A6000 but would prefer a weather sealed body as I live in Scotland)
  • Sea Frog A6xxx housing
I prefer landscape photography on land but like the idea of macro underwater so plan to pick up a macro lens and associated port. My main questions are:
  • A lot of threads on here appear to be quite positive about the A6400 - any negatives?
  • What's the best macro lens (<£500) for the A6400 and which port would I need?
  • Can you use trays/arms etc across different housing brands or do you need to stick with your brand?
  • Can you get away with only one strobe - budget is tight so ideally I'd start with only one for now.
Thanks!

Can you use trays/arms etc across different housing brands or do you need to stick with your brand?