Neutrally buoyant Piranha?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jodylynn007

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
My Piranha P1 is slightly negative and as a photographer, I need to have it slightly positive for shoving out of the way behind me during photo time.

I have installed a bolt snap on the nose and I haven't removed the little nose saltwater plate yet (will try removing the small piece before next dive). I live in Vancouver, BC Canada, so not far from Mulkiteo, WA where the DPV is manufactured... so water conditions should be similar.

However, I note on the website about installing a bolt snap that it says as follows:

"If you intend to leave the bolt snap installed permanently you can ensure your neutral buoyancy stays correct by removing the weight of the bolt snap from the lead shot in the nose. To retain the bolt snap and stop if flapping around when not in use, connect it back on itself as shown in the photo."

It refers to being able to remove weight from a lead shot in the nose. I know that other DPVs have a lead shot in the nose, but I don't think my Piranha does? So my question is, if removing the small saltwater plate isn't enough to make it slightly more positive, how can I do this?

Appreciate any feedback.