New diver - Malapascua island

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sbiriguda

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello,
I am new to diving and this May I will be in Malapascua Island. For sure i will do some snorkeling there, but I am considering to go diving to see the sharks. I have some months to learn diving here in Italy, do you think it is enough or it is too risky to dive there with only few months of experience and average swimming skills?
Thank you

Malapascua isn't especially difficult or dangerous. It's certainly easier than many locations in Italy.

For learning to dive, though, Malapascua isn't the best - the shops are small, and they have few boats, so scheduling can get restrictive. Lost a number of boats in a storm a year back, probably partially recovered by now.

Getting your OWD at home will generally prepare you for Malapascua. But the guaranteed shark dive is quite deep, you go down to the cleaning stations, almost 30 meters down. Generally the threshers are very cautious, you need to stay relaxed not to scare them away. Getting good buoyancy and trim skills at home, followed by an AOW, will help you get the most out of your trip.

I'm in a similar situation, going to Pangulasian in February. I earned my OW November in Grand Cayman (great time). I'll get my AOW next week in Key Largo. Really trying to gain competency in the water. Can't seem to find anything online regarding diving on Pangulasian. Steve Dunn at Crestmar Dive is the onsite Padi dive trainer.