New member looking for advice on diving with fillings

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

WanderingJon

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi,

I'm Jon, new to the forum. I'm hoping to get some advice on teeth and fillings. I have a mouthful of amalgam and white fillings. I've been diving since 2011 and have 64 dives. I've never had a problem with 'tooth squeeze' and as far as I know diving has had no negative effects on my teeth. I'm considering doing my Divemaster and Instructor training and want to hear from anyone with any experience of diving with a lot of fillings. I've heard some horror stories (teeth exploding!) and read that instructors can suffer more due to increased time spent in shallower water. I'd appreciate any advice or experience that you may have.

Cheers.

Jon

I don't exactly have fillings but I do have about 5 root canals & crowns. So I don't really feel any pain while diving. But I also dive a FFM so that could be part of it, too. I haven't been any deeper than about 40 ft (12M) in a normal mask & reg but so far I haven't had any failures or bad experiences with the oral modifications I have. I have a few less dives than you but I'm currently doing the online portion of the NASE Master Scuba Diver course as a prerequisite to Dive Master. Not sure if that helps or not, but there it is.

I have about 250 dives, no unmodified teeth, several root canals/crowns and four implants.