New Swim Technique For Disabled Divers--"fly" Underwater

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

John C. Ratliff

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
I have been posting in a different thread (Beyond Drag...) about a different style of underwater swimming I have been working on since the 1970s. While I am not disabled, I am now 70 years old, and I want to get these ideas out so people who could benefit from them can start to use them. One of my long-term goals is to again become an active NAUI Instructor (I'm NAUI #2710), and try teaching this technique to disabled divers in the Portland, Oregon area. I have written to DiveHeart, but not received much of a response, so I have decided to post the concept directly here. Below you will see a "Hammerhead Unit Disclosure & Details" which describes the technique for divers, and at the end discusses the use of the technique for disabled divers.

I am especially interested to know whether there is interest in the Para-Sea BC concept in conjunction with the Hammerhead Unit.