No Air?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dave22387

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I am a certified tech on a bunch of "normal" downstream brands. I dive poseidon jetstreams but have never rebuilt one. I'm gonna come out and admit it... I don't understand how the damn second stage works... :-(. I understand the basics of the upstream concept but I would like to understand in explicit detail how my life support works. Also, is there any merit in the upstream design failing closed? I guess in theory (remember I've never taken this thing apart) that if the little finger wasn't able open the valve in the second stage it is possible... Ive never heard of it or seen it happen. I know about if there was an IP increase with the OPV etc... Can anyone please make an attempt to enlighten me about how the second stage works before I lose my mind...

Think of a guy lazily leaning against a hallway door to the street, holding it closed (this analogy isn't perfect, but you'll like it anyway). He's doing that because there's a broken elevator at the end of the hall. If the repairmen allow the elevator door to open at the end of the hall, the wind blowing down the hallway and down the elevator shaft will catch the edge of the door and pull it open, and all the office paperwork will blow out the door into the street.