Olympus C-5060 flash or strobe?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tlmainer

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Has anybody used an Olympus FL-20 flash with the PFL-01 housing (for the Olympus C-5060 camera)? Just wondering how it works or if I should go with a different slave strobe? I don't know much at all about flashes or strobes.
Any help would be appreciated.

Hi. I am just a hack photographer but I have the 5060 and the FL-20 flash with housing. I've used the flash with the cable but was worried that I might have a problem with it flooding since I am now opening another area of the housing. I recently purchased the Olympus ULF-1 underwater strobe. I am much happier with that. No cables or anything to worry about.

The strobe works well. The cable runs from the flash to a port in the housing for the 5060. I guess that I like just not having the cable to deal with.

Basically, a land strobe does not have to put out as much light as a marine strobe, so the FL-20 has always been considered under-powered for all but very shallow and very clear water. Almost any made for underwater strobe is better than housing a land strobe.

Ann Marie:

How does the strobe attach to the camera housing?

Hi,