On recreational divers with pseudo-tech equipment

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

zerogravity89

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Recreational divers + half-technical equipment setup - proper training = me shaking my head

So I'm a recreational dive instructor. In my work I mainly teach students basic courses like open water, advanced open water etc (and unfortunately far too many DSD's....).
But probably a much more amusing aspect of work for me is leading certified divers. I am always pleased to help people with little experience who are simply looking to learn something new, or people who struggle after having been out of the water for a while. At least they can admit to themselves and to me that they need assistance.

But then there are those who inform me just before I give the briefing that they are "very experienced divers". Those who don't want to listen to advice about dive site information, dive profiles, emergency procedures etc, because they know better and have heard it all before.

One such diver we had diving with us recently provides a particularly amusing example of the kind of tech-wannabe I (and the other instructors I work with) really really hate. I wasn't leading this particular diver but happened to be on the same boat, going to the same site and also (fortunatley to mine and my students' amusement) encountered him underwater.