PADI Take ownership of Bonnier Corporation’s dive media brands

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Not sure I like it that PADI is taking control of the media that potential divers are accessing, but really I shouldn't care, the courses I need they can't teach (crossover to XCCR that I've been diving for the last 2 years, crossover from cave to cave CCR, and cave scooter (unfortunately I got my cave card a year too late to be grandfathered into cave scooter at Ginnie, but have been diving my own scooters in caves since 2001).
Michael

Not sure I like it that PADI is taking control of the media that potential divers are accessing

You could look at it the opposite way, that this media currently exists mainly by paid sponsorship in the form of "independent" reviews

Sure you'll get a PADI view - but outside training they do run some good initiatives - Like without PADI, Project Aware wouldn't be able to do half they stuff they can currently do.

The Dive media is pretty shabby as it is - it can't get much worse under PADI

The Dive media is pretty shabby as it is - it can't get much worse under PADI
Dive Alert (from DAN) is excellent, and Dive Training is pretty good too. All the others are in tenth place or worse. ScubaLab (in Scuba Diving) is a nice try...but you can't help but wonder just how independent it really is, given all the advertising. The Reader's choices are a joke...one big self-perpetuating popularity contest driven by the larger places. A small but excellent resort or location has no chance.