Panasonic LX7

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Revid1

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Looking at purchasing a LX7 for a home camera as the price is around $300. How is this camera for underwater shooting both stills and video? I am new to the underwater world of photography. What will I need to purchase? What are the good cases and prices? What lenses will I need to have? I guess first of all before I spend the money want to be sure that this will make a good point and shoot underwater camera. Thank you for your assistance.

I don't think too many of us who have one consider it a 'point and shoot' type camera and consider it much more than that. I consider it a fairly robust camera capable of truly amazing photos and videos. To use it under water many of us purchase the Nauticam housing to start and then begin spending the real bucks on lighting, macro and wide angle attachments. If all you're after is point and shoot quality, the camera and the cheapest housing you can find for it will be probably all you need.

Reactions: fbk
Few flickr galleries

http://flic.kr/s/aHsjFj2cV9

Bunaken2013 - a set on Flickr

Videos

[youtubehq]CXk7G5I0Kdw[/youtubehq]

[youtubehq]xjNJAk4qfMg[/youtubehq]

[youtubehq]CmpBy70F2NE[/youtubehq]

[youtubehq]lC9Io6V0ajk[/youtubehq]

[youtubehq]koxuZo1YUwE[/youtubehq]

[youtubehq]JYDVDKzMzmo[/youtubehq]

The only limitation of the LX7 is the lack of a fisheye lens that works with it. The lens aperture is just too large