Pool Practice Diving in Melbourne

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to Melbourne (and Australia for that matter).

I've picked up some dive gear and would like to do some practice pool dives to get acquainted with it. I would also like to practice buoyancy control, trim and smb etc.

Coming from Dublin, Ireland; we had regular meetings at the local Aquatic Centre where various dive clubs would get together and practice skills. I would have thought there would be something like that here but I haven't had any luck finding a place.

I was wondering if anyone here would be so kind as to point me in the right direction.

Many thanks!

Just a couple general suggestions that apply here in the US.

Call the local dive shops. See if they have a pool on site you can use for a fee. Or see if you can piggyback when they have a pool session for an OW class, even if they have to rent pool space (in a community pool, for example).

People generally practice those sort of skills under a pier where conditions are generally pretty easy. The best bet is to get involved with a dive club and there will you meet plenty of buddies to do this with. Diveline and ocean divers are a couple of great shops to try.

Rye pier, Blairgowrie yacht club and flinders pier are all popular locations, and also a bit to see. Flinders is the shallowest, maxing out at about 5m, and of those ones Blairgowrie the deepest, where you can find 8m if you bring a shovel.