Positively buoyant Jet Fins?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

trpltongue

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello all,

I'm very new to diving having only 2 dives after my Open Water Diver course, but I'm wondering if there are any positively buoyant Jet style fins available aside from UTD?

I'm in Qatar so shipping a pair of UTD's over here is $250 and not practical :) I can get Cressi, Mares, Scubapro, etc. but just not sure if any of them would actually be positively buoyant?

I know the OMS slipstreams are WAY lighter, but I've seen that they are still neutral to slightly negative. I'm looking for a fin that will actually help lift my feet, but still have the power and maneuverability of a jet.

Does such a fin exist, or should I just shove some extra neoprene in a jet fin along with my 5mil boots :) ?

Thanks Shotmaster. Do you find the Novas equivalent in terms of propulsion and control to normal Jet fins? I tried several split fins and solid fins during my first 8 dives, but preferred the power and control of the Jets. I was able to naturally backup and turn with the jet fins, but struggled to do the same with the others. I know it's technique :) but I loved that the jets just seemed to work (even without me knowing what I was doing).

Hollis F2s...

Thanks! Just read that the F2's are slightly positively buoyant even in fresh water! Is that true? That could be great for me.