Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in Recreational Dive Rescuers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Shearwater

Contributor
Reaction score
Sometimes rescuers get injured during a rescue, and sometimes their injuries are not readily apparent. @Jim Lapenta tells us about simple PTSD in dive rescuers: Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in Recreational Dive Rescuers - Shearwater Research

dx-401106-1-1.png

I'm a therapist, trained in trauma work, and I worry that folks who are exposed to diving accidents (trainers, DM's that are helping, staff, and bystanders) minimize the effect that witnessing tragedies and near-misses have on them. Most of us are encouraged to "get over it", "buck up", "suck it up buttercup", etc., and that simply does not make the damage go away. Trauma affects us on a physiological as well as psychological level. Living with trauma will touch many parts of your life - safety and control may become big issues in intimate, work and other social relationships. Please seek out help for yourself if you've witnessed or been involved in something traumatic and encourage others to do the same. Look for someone trained in trauma work.

PSA done.

I couldn't imagine what goes through the minds of some of these rescuers, some of whom have to dive in near zero visibility waters to find a bloated body. That's something that would scar me for life, couldn't do it no way.