Question about my new steel tank (new to me).

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rnln

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
First of, I am new to scuba and never own a tank. Recently, I acquired an old steel tank from a nice gentlemen. According to him, he had this tank full of air in the garage for 20 year unused. There are still tapes sealed around the valve port (you can see in pictures below). I crank the valve open a bit. There is still pressurized air comes out steadily.

I have searched and read about this tank on this board, and see that it is a longer version of the 72 steel tank. 7" width, 28.5" long. Since I am new, I will have many silly questions, hope you don't mind. Here are some of my first thought.

My first question is... I just done rebuilding my regulators. Can I use the remaining air in this tank to test and adjust my regulators or if the air in there might not be clean?

My second question is if this tank is good enough for me, sure that I am an air hunger since I am new. My instructor commented that the way I breath, I will empty the tank quick.

Another question is if it worth it to bring this tank back to life? The renting rate around here is $12 per day. The first thing I can see is that I have to hydro it, service or replace the valve, and maybe tumble it too.

BTW, what the valve, which has a lever on the side of the tank, is for? It said UP ready to dive, DOWN in reserve. I tried both positions and air seam to come out the same.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_1882.JPG