Recommendations in Fiji for beginners

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hello ScubaBoard! I am planning a 40th birthday trip for my wife to Fiji in Sept/Oct 2020. We will be getting our open water certs here in Colorado in the next few months, so we will obviously be complete beginners! I plan to split the trip between two locations, one which is more diving focused and another which is beach/relaxation focused in the Yasawas (though having the option to dive there would be welcome).

I see that there are many great diving locations throughout Fiji. However, I can't tell which locations really require Advanced Open Water in order to be worth vising, or which locations are just not suitable for divers with only a handful of dives under our belts.

Can someone recommend a location for beginners in Fiji? Since we are set on the Yasawas for one half of the trip and we don't have a long timeline (likely 9-12 days total including travel), time getting from one resort to the next will be a concern.

Is there plenty to keep us beginners busy in the Yasawas? Or will we miss out on the great coral and sea life that Fiji is known for? Is Beqa Lagoon worth visiting if we are not that interested in the shark dive? Or what about Volivoli, are those dive areas suitable for us? Can anyone compare the diving in these areas for me? Although Taveuni sounds wonderful, I'm not sure it is worth the extra travel time and expense with our limited days.

Any insight you can provide will be much appreciated!