Sea & Sea YS-D2 Strobe Problem

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Problem

I have been using a pair of YS-D2 strobes for 7 months and have done about 90 dives with my set up. In this time, I have returned both strobes to have the flash tube replaced which suggests a serious problem with over heating. Here are the possible causes of overheating:

• Taking a rapid burst of photos. The dealer recommend I buy a TTL converter so that I never miss an important shot. This appears to be incompatible with the overheating problem so I definitely recommend not using a TTL converter with the YS-D2 strobe.
  • Diving in warm water
  • Using a high power setting. To reduce the power either use a higher aperture, ISO or faster shutter speed, which will affect your creativity underwater!

The first batch of YS-D2 strobes had a reputation for overheating. Either I have a pair from this batch, or the problem hasn’t been rectified?

Warranty