Shearwater Perdix AI Dive Computer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

I’ve been using Shearwater products for several years now. The first one that I purchased was a Predator that came with my ISC Pathfinder rebreather. The only aspect of the Predator that I don’t like is the fact that it requires a Saft battery. In all of the years that I’ve had it, I’ve experienced only one problem and that was of my own making: I accidentally uploaded an incorrect firmware update into the unit which rendered it inoperable. I sent an email to the Shearwater support staff and received an immediate reply which included a software patch that I loaded into the Predator and it has worked flawlessly ever since.

A few years later I purchased one of the first generation Petrel units which served as my primary computer for open circuit diving and as a redundant computer for closed circuit. It performed flawlessly and I gave it to my son when I purchased my first Perdix, the major improvement of which is its ability to use any AA size battery.