So now I'm an SF2 instructor...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kensuf

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I dove a KISS for a year and a half logging around 250 hours on the unit. I loved my KISS, and it was a great unit to get me started on diving CCR's, and I had a couple of opportunities to become a KISS instructor but there was one thing that kept troubling me. My KISS had zero flood tolerance and for the diving I was doing, it was possible I could be 4 or more hours away from the surface. Without the ability to recover a flooded loop, this could be a disaster and I decided I needed to look at other options.

Last fall James Draker from ScubaForce USA let me take an SF2 on a try dive. I told him one of my concerns with my KISS was the inability to recover from a flooded loop, and that my goal on the try dive was to put the SF2 to the test.

Five minutes into the try dive I took the DSV out of my mouth, turned it upside down, and completely flooded the unit. James had a horrified look on his face as I shook the loop hoses making sure every last bit of gas was out of the unit, mostly because he expected that like most sane people, I would try the flood test at the end of the dive. After de-watering the unit I stayed on the loop for an extra two hours, never once having to go to the surface or bailing out. The SF2 performed wonderfully and I ordered mine the very next day.

Since receiving my SF2, I've put it through it's paces in many different and challenging environments.