Solo shore diving...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Carlos Diver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Seems like this is kinda the elephant in the room on here.

I am a novice diver. I remember my classes, telling me never dive alone. Yet, a lot of people seem to do this on Cozumel. I am staying at a place with unlimited shore diving. I have never shore dove, I hired the DM to give me a lesson on my first day, but that will hardly qualify me as an expert. If you stay close to the docks, stay shallow and use common sense, is this a big of a deal as some make it out to be? What are your experiences? I have fears of being chopped up by a prop (I know how stupid that sounds, then I read about the idiots who went under a cruise ship).

Flame, advise, insult, encourage. I want as much info as I can get.

Thanks.

No, just don't do it. I've pulled some bonehead mistakes, but I wouldn't.

With all due respect, you almost certainly lack the necessary skills to shore dive by yourself. For example, do you know how to deploy a sausage from, say, 30 feet so you don't get chopped by a prop? You should be able to find others at your resort location who would be happy to have you join them and add to your experience level.

You dont have to be respectfully, I clearly lack the skill :). I was only wondering why so many people seem to do it and if there are places were a quick dive wasnt a big deal. Kinda like a shallow 10-15' place to practice basic skills and look at fish.