Suunto D6 not D6i

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
I've had my Suunto D6 with silver strap for just over 5 years. I'm a dive professional so use it nearly everyday. During this time It's had three battery changes and Suunto were nice enough to replace the complete module due to a fault.
Recently I sent my dive computer away for the fourth battery change. The low battery sign was displayed, but everything else had been fine. I have a back up computer on the same algorithm and they have both been reading the same time, depth and NDL. On Koh Tao, the battery change takes two weeks because it 'has' to get sent away to Phuket. But two weeks is really excessive. (We have over 70 dive shops on the island and sell hundreds of Suunto computers every year. You would think they would have a service centre on the island?)
After a week I received a message from the dive shop who sent my computer away for repair, informing me that the module needs replacing again. But, they don't have the D6 module anymore, so I would have to pay for a D6i module to be put in. I like my computer, it was a present. But for the same price of just the module I can get a Zoop or another brand of computer on the same level for the same price. And I can change the battery myself. No two weeks without my computer.