Swollen bladder (can't urinate) when diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hi!

I am a very novice (female) diver, with only 8 dives post-PADI open water certification. During my first dive of the day, my bladder swells, to the point where it protrudes dramatically like an inflated balloon (which it is I suppose). This happens even if I have urinated before diving. I have tried to urinate underwater, but can't. I don't have this problem with other water sports- I pee in my wetsuit when surfing and can urinate while swimming- but when my bladder swells diving, it doesn't happen.

Not only is this extremely uncomfortable and painful, but it also worries me when I see my lower abdomen inflated to the extent it has been when I dive. I've done some searching online but haven't found anyone posting or writing about the same symptoms. Has anyone here experienced or observed this?

Thank you!

I have never heard of it getting to that point- are you diving cold or warm water - how thick a suit?

When diving in colder water in a wetsuit the urge to pee is quite intense - you normally see divers here walk in to the water until it floods the suit a bit and then stopping to prewarm the suit before continuing on. I would try this on the surface before decending and you might eliminate the worst part of the problem. It is normally a relaxation issue as opposed to anything physical.

Hi secretninjanut,