Travel BC vs Std BC for regular diving?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mortis65

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi to all the experts out there.

I appologize for the length of the question, but I want to ensure that my assumptions are correct. (Yes I am an engineer. :dork2: )

I'm new to diving, and I've been doing my research on gear. I am not asking what BC to get, rather, I am trying to understand some of the reasoning that some have offered with regards to using a lighter weight, lighter lift Travel BC vs a more conventional BC for local (ie cold fresh water) diving. Just for reference, I am in Colorado, and I hope to do some lake and reservoir diving, in addition to vacation diving in nice warm island waters.

Here is my understandsing so far. Please correct me if I am wrong on any of my assumptions.

I will assume for this discussion that I will be using a weight belt (I do plan to travel without weights).

At the surface, fully loaded (full tank), one should be neutral with a lung full of air, and an empty BC. Lift capacity of the BC should be an non issue. We then add a couple of lbs to account for the empty tank at the end of the dive.

So, at the start of the dive, I'm maybe 2-4 lbs negative. At the end of the dive, I should be neutral again.

With just my skin, in warm fresh water, I'm diving with 8 lbs. (I'm 190 lbs, male).