Tuberculosis & diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

marku

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi,

I work as a divemaster and was sidelined for 2 months because of Pulmonary Tubercolosis. I took Myrin-P for 2 months and have tested negative on my sputum tests. I am now taking Myrin for 4 months. I think both drugs are made by Wyeth. I am planning to go back to work soon. Is that advisable? Anything in particular I should keep in mind? My doctor said the pathogens thrive better in oxygen-rich environments; should I stay away from nitrox? My doctor is not very familiar with diving physiology and I would appreciate any input I can get from anybody out there.

Thank you!!

marku

Interesting. A search of DAN for Tuberculosis didn't turn up any information on what I'd figure to be the main concern, AGE.

The other day I heard a figure that 1/3 the world population was infected. It would seem that more than 1 diver would be diving with this disease, no?

marku:
Hi,