Vintage ;o)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Santa

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Can I just say, this vintage diving thing is a really interesting development. New to me however vintage ;0)

I'm a guitarist. On guitarworld vintage gear is great gear. However we are now seeing the second wave of vintage. first wave vintage was 50-early 70ties stuff.

second is - surprise - 80-90ties

I learned to play in the 80ties. most of my gear from that time is now considered vintage. I know for a fact that half of it is junk, pale reflections of older, actually better models of superior materials and craftmanship.

kids growing up now seem to think old=vintage=cool. They buy ****ty post CBS fenders from the mid 70ties for horrendous sums of money because they look worn - and vintage. Companies are even making new stuff artificially road-worn looking so that even the economically challenged get to feel vintage.

I seriously never thought this would find its way into survival-related technology. If I pop a vessel - please for the record dont give me vintage brain surgery, and please please please let potential vintage girlfriends in the past remain.

I guess Vintage wetsuits may be identified by their vintage odeur?
That sticks are vintage computers?
That gravel is vintage diet?
That quicksilver cake is vintage makeup?
That a smack in the gob is vintage dentistry and an axe to the forehead vintage political debate?

you may continue on at your own leisure . . .