Vision correction

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cbfuk

New
Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a newbie, just thinking of starting scuba. I'm not registered disabled, but have very poor uncorrected eyesight with a complex prescription - both eyes have corneal grafts. They're safe (many years ago now, healed fine) but I'm wondering what is the most practical way of correcting my vision for diving.

I normally wear GP (hard) contact lenses and I see they're a no-no for the obvious reasons, but soft lenses are a possibility. However, how practical are they - in particular, how much risk is there of them being washed out of the eye and lost? I have no experience of soft lenses at all, so I don't even have any feel for how easily they stay in, or whether they are likely to displace on the eye the way hard leneses sometimes can.

The other possibility I've had suggested is a corrective mask, but that would presumably be relatively expensive for a complex prescription like mine? Also, what happens if I lose my mask?

I'm sure this topic's been aired more than once before - so sorry if I'm repeating something all over again! If anyone can point me at an old thread, or has experience which would help, I'd be very grateful.

Cheers
Colin

Check with SeaVisionUSA.com. Send them your prescription and see what the cost would be for a mask. They do great work, make an excellent product, and their post sales customer support and service in the mask industry is, in my opinion, without equal.