What am I missing? LX10 vs. GoPro 6

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

epolice

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Yes I am a hardcore amateur but hear me out - If I only shoot video, am I better off with the Panasonic LX10 than a GoPro 6? The way I see it, the GoPro already does wide angle and I can add on macro. The LX10 needs a wide angle to be added. The GoPro does 4k at 60fps while the LX10 only does 30. It also has a higher fps for 1080.

What advantage does the LX10 have over the GoPro 6 if I am only interested in video?

Thanks!

I have an LX10 and GoPro 3 Black (used underwater for 5 years) and I shoot video only so I can provide some input. All in, the LX10 is about 4x the cost (nauticam housing). My main reason for switching was low light shooting, the GoPro was way too grainy in lower light.

Benefits of the GoPro are size and ease of use. You don't have to worry about focus, because everything is in focus. You need to use the CamRAW white balance setting and red filter to get good results, a red filter up the ISO/grain.

Where the LX10 wins is macro ability, low light shooting and excellent manual white balance ability (good until 60 feet without a filter). Autofocus will take time to figure out how to do effectively.

The video I get from my LX10 is for sure better quality than the GoPro, but I really think I'd be happy with either one.