What are you paying for?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KTA

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to the sport and have been looking around at some of the gear and i have noticed huge price differences in regulators. What are you paying for between a $150 regulator and a $500 regulator. Is it really worth all that much more?

Yes there is a very large difference. Diving is one sport where the higher price most often results in increased quality and performance rather than an effective marketing and sales department.

As I was talking with a new diver today, regulators are one things that you don't want to skimp on price wise. And the choice of which one really does depend on the style of diving you are (or will be) doing.

All regulators can deliver air at 30-50 feet for recreational dive at a good rate with acceptable resistance. But it's the upper end of the scale (such as the Poseidens for example) that can deliver air at 100 feet and deeper for technical dives with minimal resistance. If you see yourself to be a hardcore diver (as in diving all the time, and eventually learning techical diving) then taking a good hard look at the upper end is worth your time and eventual money.

Hopefully this answers your question in part.

Now if you tell us what sorts of diving you are doing now, and aspire to in the future, we might be able to suggest some brands/models for you to investigate.

--TM (I'd rather be....under the sea....in an octupus' garden...)