What do I need and Where do I start to learn to Free dive?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RSpaulding2

Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I sat in a class at DEMA conducted by a free diver world record holder. He talked about new ways to learns to hold your breath and increase bottom time. I am totally new to this concept of free diving and I think I am interested in learnin how to free dive. Are there things I can do at home or breathing excercises to begin practicing?

Here is a book you can buy it's called Manual of Freediving Underwater on a single breath by Umberto Pelizzari and Stefano Tovaglieri.
the book is 39.95 and well worth it.

Umberto Pelizzari - The campion Italian freediver who broke 17 world records in all the disciplines.

Stefano Tovaglieri - An experienced Scuba and apnea instructor as well Sports graduate.

Step by step everything you need to know, and how to learn.

While you can learn a lot from books, the most important thing to learn is how to be safe. For that I'd take a course. The two I know of that offer classes in the U.S. are Performance Freediving International and Martin Stepanek's Freediving Instructors and Trainers. PFI is out of Vancouver, BC but also offers courses in Hawaii, Monteray, CA, Miami, and Grand Cayman. FIT is out of Fort Lauderdale, FL. Martin used to be an instructor/partner of PFI, but split to start his own company. While I only have experience with PFI (after Martin left), I'm sure they're both quality training programs.