What kind of gear to invest in?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mylee

Registered
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a newbie to the world of scuba diving and I have a few questions about gear. I have almost no knowledge of what to look for when investing into things such as wetsuits, goggles, and flippers, so any advice or suggestions would be appreciated. I'm getting PADI certified in the next few months, so I want to invest in my own personal gear so I don't have to rent any, and so I can start diving right after being certified.
More specifically, I want to know where I can find a wetsuit for my body type. I'm very petite in body size, but my height is about 5'7. I weigh in between 98-104 lbs. Being super skinny and somewhat tall has made my search for a wetsuit rather difficult. It seems they're either too big or too short. Is there a specific brand/store/distributed that would have something for me? Any leads or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks :)

I would wait to take my classes and see if I like diving before investing in gear. The rest depends on the type diving you will do...warm water or cooler clime. BCD/backplate and wing and reg is more important and that will be your major investment, and your computer. Masks need to fit your face. There are off the rack tall wet suits, or they can be custom made if you really are hard to fit, or you can do two pieces. See how your course goes first. Shops are more than happy to assist. <cha-ching>