Where is the Best Overall diving in Australia/Oceania?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TheShark1

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello all. I'm an instructor, and I'm thinking about relocating to the Australia/Pacific Islands region. I've read all the magazines, websites, top-10 lists, etc. But I was hoping to get some first-hand opinions from some well-traveled divers here..

I'm most interested in big marine life (Seals/Sea Lions, Dolphins, Whales, Whale Sharks, Sharks, Mantas, Manatees/Dugongs, etc.) and healthy coral reefs.

So.. with that being said.. Where is the Best Overall Diving in the Australia/Pacific Islands region?

Most people'll tell you Fiji, Palau, The Great Barrier Reef. What say you guys?

Thank you very, very, very much in advance for any insights! I really, really do appreciate them!

I've been to a lot of the above...

To be honest, there's no single definitive answer to your question. Most of those places have their merits.

GBR has the best hard corals and minke whale migration.
Ningaloo has whale shark aggregation.
Fiji has the best soft corals.
French Polynesia has the best shark-life.
Tonga has humpback migration.
Truk has the best shipwrecks.
Solomon Islands has the best plane wrecks.
Yap has the best manta-life.
Papua New Guinea has the best cultural experience.
Poor Knights has the best sub-tropical kelp forest type diving.