working out after diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
As anyone can guess, I am new to diving.
I am also an avid runner.
My question is,
How long should I wait after diving to run a road race
of 13.1 miles?
Can I dive two dives at 30 feet on Monday evening and then
race early Tuesday morning?

You should be waiting 12 hours
But if aggressive dive profiles you better wait 24 hours
Some told me i could run after 6 hours...but i didnt...

Exercise after diving increases the incidence of DCS from 22% to 46%. Exercise at depth is detrimental, increasing nitrogen uptake. (Requiring three times the decompression). Immersion in cold water with exercise causes increased incidence of DCS.

Have a look there if you didn't already
http://www.scuba-doc.com/exerdcs.html

Fred

One of my customers (girl aged 17) did a nothing special dive very early Sunday morning, about 25metres, 35 minutes. That night she did 20 minutes on her exercise bike. 2.00am she woke with excruciating pain in both knees. After 2 sessions in the chamber her "fizzed" knees felt better. A month out of the water and she's fine, but she doesn't use her exercise bike after diving anymore.