Yes, another equip buying question thread..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jd950

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
I am new to this...real new. I don't have a burning desire to buy stuff I don't need and will be lucky to make two diving trips of a week or 10 days per year, but all my diving will be in warm water outside the U.S. So each trip will be an expensive flight, with hotels, restaurant meals, and so on. It's not like I'm going to rent stuff on Friday afternoon to dive Saturday and return the gear on Sunday. I will be doing my open water cert in Mexico in a few weeks.

I already have mask, snorkel and fins and because I am hard to fit I purchased a wetsusit. In confined water dives I have already encountered a BC that had a slow leak into it from the low pressure hose, making buoyancy kind of challenging. I have seen gauges that are so scratched they are hard to read, another BC with a tank strap so worn it was hard to properly secure the tank, hoses that leak at the 2d stage, etc. As I said, I am hard to fit, so the BCs have either been too long or overly tight, but tolerable, at least in a pool.