Almost, was too close.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Captain Tim

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
I obtained my ticket while I was a Navy Air Crew Instructor, teaching young Navy helicopter crewman everything they needed to know about the Sikorsky H3 Helicopter. . If we did not teach it, they did not need to know it. SAR and SONAR. That happened 32 years ago.
I thought then, I would NEVER let my Masters ticket expire.

For reasons that are mine, I almost did. So much so at the last possible moment. It was counted in days. I used almost my entire 1 year "grace" period (started in April of 2016) before I decided to make a half hearted attempt to renew one last time..Although I would be working a dive boat for disabled divers and veterans, that was going to be as a volunteer position for a veterans group and was all being formulated from donation and grants from many NFP veterans groups..

Even as I maintained my currency that last year as a senior deck on a whale watching boat (that was fun) I was convinced my last renewal in 2011 was certainly the final word.

Then my long time close personal friend and "brother" AKIMBO (on this forum), reminded me that if I allowed myself to expire to the point of no return (new test required) and then suddenly I decided I had made a BIG mistake, the only recourse was as a captain on a Safari Boat at Disney Land or even worse ,singing an Italian love song while "Paddling "a gondola at The Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas. THAT WOKE ME UP!