Dive-Rite Rec wing vs. Venture wing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mambo Dave

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Greetings all!

I've done a ton of searching as of late (here and googling), and have found -some- info, but not really enough to satisfy my question.

A question for Dive-RIte wing users, past and present:

I'm just getting into the sport after quite a good amount of time in between my certification dives and the present world. I will be diving the Atlantic ocean (in and around Ft. Lauderdale), and hopefully some freshwater lakes (in and around alligators? ... OK, skip those dives for now... )

Based on the deals I can get, and the budget I'm on, I find myself having to choose between two wings: DR's Rec and Venture wings.

I plan on only diving single large tanks - eventually buying large steel HP tanks. But, for now, I'll probably be using some used large Aluminum LP tanks, but always in a single configuration. I probably will want to take a second smaller tank for DC stops, but this won't happen anytime very soon. Still, I want a wing that will be good for all of this on my first purchase.