New to sport and need a BCD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hello,

Im new to the sport and I am looking to get a BC. I want to get good equiptment that I can advance into, but I dont want to break the bank either. I know I want a rear inflated BC and I came across this one SEA ELITE TEK X BACK INFLATION WEIGHT INTEGRATED BCD
does anyone have any experience with this unit, I know sea elite isnt a huge name, and I am not sure of their quality. any advice? -Thanks

It has too much lift, too many d-rings, and too many useless clutter "features" like a chest strap and cummerbund for my taste, but my taste tends toward minimalism.

It seems to be a pretty decent BC compared to a lot of what's out there, and you can't beat the price. It will almost certainly serve you well as a new diver, and since the price is low, it should be a good choice. You'll probably love it at first, and may gradually find things you'd prefer were different. The good news is that you'll probably get more than your money's worth out of it before you've advanced in your diving to the point that you actually NEED anything different.

Most people end up replacing thier first BC with one that better suits their diving style. I would suggest trying several (rentals or ebay) before buying you end-all-be-all BC. I went thru several before I ended up with a DiveRite Transpac and Venture Wing. Come to think of it, I may just get the DSS back plate and deluxe harness.

Dave