Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello all! I've lurked on these boards for months. I'm a total novice. My mom used to forbid me from even LOOKING at scuba flyers because of my asthma. (FYI: If you've got no time for pleasantries, skip to the bold parts.)

On my first day here, I didn't know what a regulator was. Or the difference between open- and closed-circuit. Since then, I've greatly enjoyed my struggle to comprehend your tales, triumphs, wisdom, and culture. I'm inspired to try diving someday soon! But that's not what this post is about.

No, I'm finally posting because -- wait for it -- I'm ~writing something~.

(You may be thinking: "do your own job." Honestly, I tried. Dozens of hours of research. Your passion is COMPLICATED, in a beautiful way. Aren't you annoyed when dummies like me don't do it justice?)

Here's the short version: Let's say a ghost is hell-bent on ruining your week while you're 110' deep on the ocean floor. What's the worst they could do to you / your equipment without it being an ironclad death sentence? And how would you manage to survive? I'm envisioning a simple, legible sabotage -- e.g., valves stuck open or closed / hoses or bladders punctured / flood, leak, or free-flow / entanglement, etc. -- but take the prompt any direction you please. It could be loud and in-your-face...or silent and sneaky.)