Photography Tips-WB, Settings etc etc! Sharks oO? HELP >___<

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bazal

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hey,

So basically - on ground I use a Canon 70D. I shoot in Av, Tv and P mode - not advanced enough to shoot in Manuel mode yet. I normally shoot in both RAW + JPEG. I'm NOT good at working with images in RAW, but still shoot because eventually I'll get there!

Problem.. under water.. well properties are a bit different... I have no experience with underwater photography - actually - I'll do a little explaining.

I avoided picture/video taking underwater until I learned to control my buoyancy at a decent level (as in no air in and out of the bcd) - as in gliding/floating... with minor breathing modifications in order to adjust buoyancy. This happened after my 20th dive - still need a lot more fine tuning - anyway I did not take pictures/movies until my 25th dive (I have 29 total dives).

So - things I kinda am aware of:
- I AM aware of light changes/color loss. Yes I could use a red filter or use a custom white balance... but having strobe should correct color loss.
-I am aware of distances being different underwater - and you probably want to be within.. well I think 3 feet of taking a picture