pro ear 2000 mask / tube in ear

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

virginia jim

Reaction score
I was a scuba instructor for over 20 years and had to give up diving when I had to have a tube put in my right ear. I have read about a mask, the Pro Ear 2000 that is supposed to be helpful to divers with ear problems. The mask was originally sold by Oceanic. Oceanic has discontinued the mask.
As a dive shop owner I used to sell equipment. I know that there are equipment "copies", I call them Taiwan look-a-likes. The copies may cost less than half, but are of far inferior quality than the original.
Yes, I know that if the mask gets knocked off during a dive I might experience vertigo, been there done that and am willing to take the risk.
SO---
1.) Has anyone used the ProEar 2000 who has a tube(s) in an ear who can give me some advise?
2.) Looking on the "net" I find some proear 2000 masks for like $170, and some for $80 What can you tell me about these prices/quality.
3.) Anybody got an original OCEANIC ProEar 2000 mask they want to sell me?

Jim,

I bought one for my son last year. I think I ordered it from joediver off Ebay for about $50-$60. My son has always had sinus problems and has been slow to equailze. Using a descent line he can take his time and equalize. He is a good diver and has in excess of 150 dives. He just has to take his time going down.