S/H Gear

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Luke.k1983

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi,

im quite new to scuba but i would like to start diving more often but without the need of renting the equipment all the time. Ive had a look at some new gear but that can get very expensive. What do you thing about buying older, second hand equipment? What do i have to look for? I know that once i buy it i should get it checked/servised rightaway before diving.

Ive come across about 13yo equipment, which has been used only for few months throughout that time. Includes:

Tusa Imprex BCD
Tusa Imprex 1st & 2nd stage SS-400
Suunto EON dive computer

Any help and suggestion is greatly appraciated .

Cheers

Luke

word of caution, please check with your local dive shops if they can service the tusa regulators before buying them. Otherwise, you might end up with buying something which you cannot use or might be expensive to maintain.

thanks, didnt really think about it as its prodive shop that only sells tusa bcds, regulators, masks, etc so i kinda guessed they would service it too

I don't know how the bigger US websites are for shipping to Australia, but if you monitor Leisurepro.com's package deals you can generally find brand new equipment for MAYBE 1-200$ more than you'd spend for second hand gear.

For the most part you're going to spend the extra money getting it serviced initially anyway, it just makes more sense to buy new unless you're getting a crazy good deal.