Shredding nails

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kimela

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
This has become a problem more recently. After a week of diving I spend the next several weeks with my nails splitting and breaking. They tear very easily. I'm on a marine collagen supplement that should help with hair, nails, joints and bones. I'm wondering if anyone has a suggestion for something to apply to the nails to protect them or strengthen them? Thanks!

My first thought (disclaimer, I'm not a doctor..) is looking into making dietary/nutritional changes above and beyond the collagen supplement (but first it would be great to test for deficiency in iron, B vitamins, calcium, zinc, and perhaps fatty acids?).

Also, I don't know what you do with your gear between dives, but if you have been cleaning dive gear in a dunk tank I would start wearing waterproof gloves (or see if someone else can help) for that portion of post-dive work. In addition to the direct action of dilute bleach (sterimine being a less harsh option) it is possible chemical sensitivities may also be a contributing factor (personal example: under and around my fingernails, but not the actual nails, gets very cracked and dry every time my body is exposed to the chemicals in certain marine sealants).