The future of SLR cameras in dive photography?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Splint

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm interested to hear people opinions on the general consumer trends relating to SLR and similar sized cameras in dive photography. Given the continuous improvements in compacts and phones is it reasonable to think that the larger style cameras may in general become much less popular over time? To put the question in perspective, I'm a mechanical engineer and I would eventually like to get into manufacturing camera housings. At this stage I'm in two minds as to whether I should primarily focus on phone housing which would appeal to a different consumer group or to focus on SLR and 4/3 and compact style.

True SLRs are a dead end technology with the advent of mirrorless, but I don't think that is what you are asking. The SLR form factor will probably stick around more or less indefinately just because of the need to collect more light than what a phone lens can do. There are only so many photons and cramming more pixels onto a sensor doesn't change that. There will still be a place for big glass for a long time to come.

You can't make good camera housings if you are not using them. You should invest in a housing for a proper camera. Look and Nauticam and Ikelite for two ends of the spectrum. Also get a few Phone housings and experiment with them. There is only so much you can learn without being an enthusiastic UW photographer.