Ups And Downs In Underwater Communication

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

philip damore

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi Guys

I'm new to the field of underwater communication and would like to get an idea of how people other than my self feel about the issue.

I've heard some divers who wouldn't trade the peace and quite they experience when diving for any type of communication gadget, others who are greatly exited about the possibility to speak with their buddy during dives.

Therefore I would like to ask you what you think :)

If you have 2 min. I have set up a poll with 3 simple questions where every response would be greatly appreciated, and if you you don't any comment would also be great!

Link to poll: Wireless Underwater Communication

Last edited:
I have no FFM with communication, but can't think of a downside. Most of my dives are solo anyway, but FFM is too expensive. It would come in handy if you exceeded the max depth on nitrox and risked convulsions and loss of 2nd stage from mouth.

I use FFM's with communications for work. Love it in practical use but in theory I can be not a huge fan.

The good:
It fixes all your problems with on the fly decisions that may come up on a dive, even with the most detail orientated planning & backup planning. You can now sort everything out with both the Topside crew & your UW Team by verbal communication.

Topside, I hear the boat but I can't see it.
_"Topside here, we're 20ft away from the Anchor buoy; you're good to surface"
Or