Venice Dives - gear setup & questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cbm369

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
I will be in Venice later this month June 27th - July 2nd and have a few questions on diving Venice.

I've been to Venice once before, but this is my first time diving here. Planning on doing mainly shore dives, but also a few boat dives, weather permitting. Based on what I've read about the area, everything will be shallow - 40 feet or less as far as tooth/fossil hunting.

What's the typical gear loadout for this area, at this time of the year?
ie: no wetsuit needed, shorty, full 3 mil, etc...?
any hand/digging tools to bring in for Meg / Fossil hunting? (other than mesh bag)
any sea life concerns in the area at this time of year? (jellyfish, stingrays, etc...)

Any specific tips?

I will be staying on Villas Drive in Venice, which looks to be about a 1/2 mile south of the Alhambra site, so that will probably be where most of my beach dives take place.

Does anyone know the typical direction of the current at Alhambra? North to South, South-North, does it vary much? Just debating on whether or not I can enter the water off Villas drive and proceed north to the Alhambra site.

Thanks in advance for any help & advice,
Charlie

This time of year, water temps are mid 80's, so you shouldn't need any neoprene. I have found digging tools unnecessary, just a bag to put your find in. and a dive flag. Most, if not all of the fossil hunting is in less than 30 fsw.