A couple of questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

taliesin58

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am still new to diving, and I have a couple of questions about gear.

1. I just got a new octopus and spg, and I want to change the routing of my hoses. Am I ok to do that myself with a wrench, or should I take it to a dive shop?

2. I currently have a BP/W. I purchased some extra webbing incase I need to replace my harness. However, the harness that I bought for the BP has a grommet in the middle. If and when I replace the harness with the webbing I bought, how to I install a grommet on the webbing?

you can change the hoses yourself. just make sure you don't over-tighten. tight and a little more should do

just FYI, there are high pressure ports and low pressure ports on the first stage. the pressure gauge goes on a high pressure port.

everything else goes on a low pressure port

they are made so you can't put one in the other by mistake

not sure about 2

taliesin58:
...how do I install a grommet on the webbing?
Coupla options. First, they actually make grommet kits. You can find'em in stores that sell camping goods, tents, etc. Cabelas has them. www.cabelas.com

They are a PITA though...