Dive safari - Maldives, Cuba or Palau?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mesje

Registered
Reaction score
Hi. I would like to go to a safari boat, but i cannot decide the right destination. I have some limitations / conditions:
- I am a beginner (with just 10 dives)
- i prefer destination where are sharks guaranteed and other big fish (mantas)
This conditions determine my possibilities, so for example I must exlude Egypt, where the best sites with sharks are only for advanced divers. I am considering about these destinations:

Maldives
Jardines de la reina, Cuba
Palau (but i am not sure if there are not big currents, which made it not suitable for beginners)

I am thinking about Maldives, but i dont know if it is also for beginners. I also dont know, if i can visit some islands during the safari.

Thank you for every advise

Safari boat???? what is that? Do you mean a liveaboard?

What time of year?

Your profile is blank so I can't really tell you where is best from your home location....... but I can say that if you want to see sharks and do it on beginner type dives from a liveaboard, I would suggest in the Caribbean: Nekton in Bahamas (Apr-Aug only), ExplorerVentures Bahamas or Turks & Caicos (sharks, no mantas), or Aggressor to Turks & Caicos or Caymans (sharks, no mantas).
Another option is the Aggressor in Kona Hawaii - maybe white tips sharks and good chance of seeing mantas.
websites:
www.nektoncruises.com
www.aggressor.com
www.explorerventures.com