PDA

View Full Version : Grilled hog fish? Anyone tried it?

Firediver32
March 16th, 2009, 03:14 PM
To start I am new to spear fishing (not to diving). I will only shoot what I'll eat, and am kind of picky. I like hog fish, so thats what I plan on hunting for now. Has any one tried grilling it? any recipies/tips? Thanks.

Dan

zak87
March 17th, 2009, 03:09 AM
i have also just started spearfishing and hogs a my fav so far all thow i do not have any recipies i happend to make good friends with my dive instrctor and he afton takes hogs so ill ask him tomarrow and let you know

zak jessen

Walter
March 17th, 2009, 06:27 AM
Hogfish are the best!

Intense Blue
March 17th, 2009, 12:04 PM
I have been spearfishing for years and have shot and cooked hundreds of hogs. Grilled is the way to go but honestly you can cook hogfish anyway you like and it still comes out good. Here are two to try out. If you have a cast iron skillet it really helps. Throw the skillet on the grill for 5-8 minutes ... let it get about 250 -300 degrees. Coat one side of the hogfish with melted butter by brushing it on, then put one light coat of garlic powder followed by a good coat of creole seasoning. Put it seasoning down on the hot skillet for 5 minutes ,then flip over on the grill (off the skillet) for 5-7 minutes untill cooked.... Another favorite is to take the fillets, wrap them in tin foil leaving room to put in a half cup of high quality white wine mutiple types of pepers, minced garlic and 5 or 6 lemon wedges along with what ever other spices you might like, but don't go too crazy. Hope this helps

Johnoly
March 17th, 2009, 12:08 PM
Hog is very tasty. I like to keep it simple and put it on the grill. I also don't like Alum-foil since I like the grilled taste. I use fish racks, or cheap baking cooling wire racks.

Take the hog filets, spray both sides with PAM oil spray
Sprinkle both sides lightly with pepper, garlic salt and popcorn butter salt.