Thinking of diving Marco Island this week....

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ulyssesfreeman

Registered
Reaction score
Hi!
I am new to diving, having only done one brief dive in mexico many years ago. I have 1 week in Naples florida and am thinking of doing a dive in the Gulf this week...Marco Island.

I am reading all sorts of different reviews on Gulf diving...poor vis...not good for beginners...long boat time (doesn't matter to me).

I have no fears or trepidation about diving…however that could be pure ignorance speaking.

Anyone have any recent data or possible forecast data about diving marco. Should i hit frt lauderdale instead?

Thanks!
Ulysses

You should take a class before doing any diving anywhere.

Hi Walter,
I realize now, i gave off the impression that I was just going to go rent some equipment and jump off the side of a boat...

That is not the case! :)

There are a few places that do a "Dive in a Day" on both the Gulf side and the Atlantic side...so i was thinking of doing a "Dive in a Day" trip this week. However, with all the negative publicity gulf diving receives, I’m concerned I maybe wasting my money and time. I’m up for the challenge, but I maybe to novice to appreciate the Gulf and it’s “pea soup” waters, but “more extreme” diving conditions.

Ultimately I want to learn to scuba dive and this may have to wait till I get back to Toronto as my time here is short...but i wanted to cease this opportunity if it was worth it.

Thanks for the response...any further thoughts that may help?