Logged dives?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bmax7589

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to diving and have just gotten my c-card, but my question is about what makes up a logged dive?...Another diver and myself have been told by various people that you must achieve a certain depth and have a certain amount of bottom time, but others have said this isn't true....I am confused:confused:

Some agencies have rules regarding open water dives during certification. Once you are certified, you determine what is a dive. There are no scuba police who monitor your logbook.

MD

basically i log a dive each time i put on my gear and enter the water. A log book should be educational. I had to abort an ocean dive once due to conditions before we even truely desended and I logged that one. I wrote about the reasons why we aborted, the conditions and how I felt. It could be helpful later on to recall that experience. The only dives I have not recorded were my training dives. Reason being...I feel there is a difference between diving and certified diving. My logs include certified dives only. I also do not count my training dives when telling people about my dive totals.
Long story short.....its up to you.