D7000 vs. ILC

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JoeinLA

Contributor
Reaction score
Just trying to come to a decision to buy a D7000, get a Pen/NEX, or just wait...

Came from G11 (which I just sold). I had decided to keep it if it didn't sell, since the upgrade costs seem to be growing everytime i look into it :p but, as fate would have it, I sold the G11 setup. So, now, what to do.

First, I'm no pro, and don't really "NEED" anything fancy. OTOH, you only live once, and as long as it doesn't break the bank or get me divorced, why not.

D7000: I shoot Nikon FF on land, and have been wanting (not needing) a DX for a while. D7000 looks like a GREAT DX camera. Even if the mythical D400 were out, I'm not sure I'd pay too much more than the D7000 price for a second body. Obviously, using a DSLR provides much greater response and control vs. a PEN/NEX. I don't know that picture quality would actually be better, and I'm not sure frame rate matters underwater as I'd be more dependent on strobe recycle times than the camera's machine-gun capabilities (please let me know if those assumptions are wrong!). I think if money were no object, I'd go the DSLR route. But, yeah, I'm always thinking cost vs. benefit, and the biggest problem I have with the cost of the D7000 is the $3,000 housing that will be basically worthless once I put it in the water. If the D7000 housing cost the same as a PEN/NEX housing, then I guess I'd just go with the D7000.