Lift capacity/head above water on single wing vs jacket

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Divealpha

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Just got back from holiday, this time with my new 18 pound oxycheq single wing. I have never used wings before, only jacket BCD's.
Tried it first in confined water, and needed 6kg weights...
On the first boat dive, I got a 15l steel, which almost led to disaster when I got in the water.:shocked2:....almost drowned because I had my chin to low in the water(some big waves..could not stop hyperventilating etc.).
Now, I changed Diving centre and dove the rest of my holiday with a standard BCD....
My question is: How high will a 40 Lb wing keep my head/chin above the water compared to a jacket?
At home, I've been using a Black Diamond, which have 50 lbs lift....but I guess 40 lbs will do for both coldwater and holiday diving in Egypt,Asia etc. Right or wrong? Am going 60 in a few years, and have no intention of drowning, escpecially not above the surface! Guess the 18 lbs will be used for alu tanks & shoredives.......Loved the feeling diving with harness & wing....

Divealpha,

That tank is fairly negatively buoyant. Were you wearing a wetsuit when you took it into open water? If not, then you've probably just found the bottom limit of wing lift that you would need... in other words, you couldn't be much more negatively buoyant without adding weights (I'm assuming now that you weren't wearing any).